Cognitive Domain (Benjamin Bloom)

In Cognitive Domain, Benjamin Bloom defines a cognitive area that includes certain concepts that serve the development of intellectual abilities and abilities. This article aims to assess affective and psychomotor skills that benefit from taking into account the different learning styles of students. [Sources: 10, 17]


Besides the cognitive domain, Bloom’s taxonomy includes a number of other cognitive domains, including social, emotional, and behavioral. Bloom, Krathwhol and Masia detailed their research in 1964 on the development of social and emotional skills in children and adolescents. [Sources: 7, 12]


See also the taxonomy in the Educational Objectives Handbook [1] for more information on Bloom’s taxonomies of cognitive domains. [Sources: 12]


Founded in 1956, the American educational psychologist Benjamin Bloom provides the Bloom taxonomy for a hierarchical order of cognitive abilities and is used to determine successful teaching methods. The Bloom Taxonomy was created as a result of the work of a committee of educational psychologists led by Benjamin Bloom at the University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign (UIC) School of Education from 1956 to 1958. In 1958, as part of the work of this committee, an Educational Objectives Handbook [2] was published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science in Education (AAAS). In Benjamin Bloom’s unique volume of editors, this classification system was called the “Bloom taxonomies” and has had a significant impact on education and teaching in the United States and abroad. [Sources: 5, 16, 20, 23]


The Bloom taxonomies divide learning from the acquisition of rudimentary knowledge into three areas: basic, basic, and advanced. These three domain taxonomy allow teachers to design learning events and activities that promote the development of basic cognitive skills such as memory, attention, reasoning, decision-making and reasoning. [Sources: 4, 11]


Functionally, the Bloom Cognitive Domain Taxonomy is a set of verbs divided into categories that allow you to write down measurable goals. If you select verbs you use to express what a student will do, you will find that the Benjamin Bloom taxonomy of cognitive domains, updated by Anderson and Krathwohl, is used as the basis for the cognitive domain taxonomies of the three basic domains: basic, basic, and advanced. It is aimed at those who seek to expand knowledge in a cognitive area, develop skills in the psychomotor area and develop emotional aptitude and balance in an affective area. Part of this Bloom Taxonomy is the classification of educational goals. [Sources: 1, 2, 7, 8]


We consulted the Bloom Taxonomy at Carnegie Mellon University to help us develop the basic, basic, and advanced cognitive domain taxonomies of the three basic cognitive domains. [Sources: 7]


In addition to the development of cognitive taxonomies, the Bloom group later dealt with the goals of the affective area, which concerned interest, attitude and appreciation. Our intention was to develop a basic cognitive domain taxonomy for the three basic areas of interest and attitudes. The revision of bloom taxonomy was published in the journal Psychological Science in December this year, with a presentation of its model on this website, probably best described as “December.” [Sources: 6, 12, 15, 18]


We revisited cognitive domain taxonomy and ensured that the revision reflected a more up-to-date and up-to-date language. We kept Bloom’s focus on cognitive areas, but we also reorganized and updated the state of knowledge, redefining different types of knowledge. The Bloom Cognitive Domains allow educators to distinguish between the type of content taught and the degree of understanding of the content. [Sources: 9, 21, 22]


Bloom identified the basic skills and on-demand skills that grow with increasing complexity to a higher level of assessment. Bloom identified three types of knowledge that are each rated higher – basic, intermediate and advanced. [Sources: 19, 26]


In addition, Bloom’s taxonomy classifies three areas – cognitive, affective, and psychomotor – as part of a pyramid. The Bloom Taxonomy was used to acquire knowledge in the cognitive field, which includes intellectual and skills, with the Creator intending to address all three areas. [Sources: 14, 26]


The cognitive area of Bloom Taxonomy is well suited for the online learning experience, which differs from the class experience because face-to-face communication is limited or non-existent. The highest level of learning in Bloom’s taxonomy was to ask the student to create something tangible and conceptual. [Sources: 11, 25]


Instructions to university lecturers to apply the educational theory developed by Benjamin Bloom, which categorizes assessment tasks and learning activities, to cognitive areas. [Sources: 13]


The cognitive field is essentially the type of intellectual learner that one is, and there are many categories of learning that fall into this category (see Bloom’s Taxonomy of Knowledge). It contains a list of cognitive skills, ranging from lower-order skills that require less cognitive processing to higher-order skills that require more computing power and a higher level of knowledge processing. Areas of knowledge are identified by the way knowledge is used and the level of its application. Bloom’s taxonomies comprise a range of different cognitive areas, each with its own tasks and activities, and each with a hierarchy corresponding to different levels of learning. [Sources: 0, 3, 5, 24]


Educational goals are divided into cognitive, affective, and psychomotor (sometimes loosely called “hands-on”). [Sources: 26]




Bloom’s Taxonomy


Bloom’s Taxonomy: Levels of Understanding


The Three (3) Domains of Learning – Cognitive; Affective; And Psychomotor (Caps) – It’s Application in Teaching and Learning


How To Create Learning Objectives Using Bloom’s Taxonomy




Bloom’s Taxonomy


What is Blooms Taxonomy?